Snap Map

To Ghost or not to Ghost!

Snapchat Map

Brand new features hit Snapchat this week. The term “Ghosted” has a new meaning and if you ever wanted a friend to know where you are right now, then Snapchat has a new tool for you.

Welcome to the Ghost mode. It’s part of the new Snapchat Map unrolled in the latest Snapchat update. To access the map, go to the main start up screen where you take pictures and videos and pinch two fingers together on the screen to open up the new map feature.

It will prompt you right away if you would like to allow GPS to track your location. This is the only way to use the map. Once you’ve succumbed to the peer pressures of Snapchat and agreed to this new TOS, then you will see a map similar to the one in the image above.

This is where the real fun begins. If you’re friends are using the new Snap Map and have not turned on ghost mode, then you will see where they last updated their Snapchat. It will appear as their bitmoji or as a silhouette. As far as I’ve seen, you do have to be friends with the person. Sorry to all of those who are looking to stalk celebrities.

It will also show you where major event stories are happening. Right now I’m seeing stories about parades and baseball games on my map.

You can also click high density areas to watch local Snapchat stories. This is part of the Our Story feature, which allows you to post to not only your My Story, but the Our Story for everyone to see. 

If you do not want to become a part of this map, but want to remain a ghost, and still see your friends who are using the map. Check out these easy steps.

First, you need to click the settings icon on the top right corner that looks like a gear wheel. From there, you will see Ghost Mode, where you can click the check-mark box to green. It should look like the first image below.

Snapchat Ghost Mode

If you want people to see you on the Snap Map, then you can unclick the Ghost Mode and the image below will pop up. From here you can select certain friends who can still see you even when you have the Ghost Mode turned off. If you wish for everyone to see you, click All Friends. You will then appear in the Snap Map for all of your friends to see.

Snap Ghost Settings

Remember that Snap Map only updates from the last time you used GPS with Snapchat. There you go. An easy guide to Snapchat’s new Snap Map and Ghost Mode.