Scenic View of January travels…

Nikon D90, ISO 400, f/7.1, 1/1000 sec

Nikon D90, ISO 400, f/7.1, 1/1000 sec

I have not blogged in over a month. It has been a crazy few months for me, as far as getting ready to move and planning for a wedding. So hopefully a few eye-catching images will make up for my blogging absence.

And per request, I am starting to put my data file on the image. I don’t think you were able to see it before, but now instead of me saying it in the blog and confusing everyone to death, I’ll just put it under the picture.

The Christopher Columbus statue underneath the Corpus Christi Harbor Bridge is a gorgeous statue. It’s kind of hidden away in a nice area of Corpus Christi I had never seen. There was a lot of construction in that area for the longest time, so I avoided it. It seems that all of the construction is officially finished and it offers a nice scenic view of the bay and under the Harbor Bridge. If you are in the area, it’s a good place to take some shots of your visit to Corpus Christi. There is plenty of parking and it is right next to the Museum of Science and Natural History.

Nikon D90, ISO 400, f/8, 1/1000 sec

Nikon D90, ISO 400, f/8, 1/1000 sec

Near by, I was also able to take a few pictures of the Heritage Village. I have done a few photo shoots here, including my most recent back in August. This is a nice place for pictures. If you need family portraits or senior portraits, this place offers a number of background options. And if you are not satisfied with those, there are plenty of other places close by that offer just as many backgrounds.

Nikon D90, ISO 400, f/7.1, 1/2000 sec

Nikon D90, ISO 400, f/7.1, 1/2000 sec

In the midst of all my travels in Corpus Christi, I also payed a visit to Rockport, Texas. Rockport is about a 30 minute drive from Corpus Christi and is a small coastal community that centers around fishing and shrimping. It also has a large art culture. I went there to work on wedding stuff, as our reception will be at the Texas Maritime Museum. This is a beautiful building and I wish I would have taken more photographs, but here is one to check out. Anyone in the area, I urge you to visit this place and admire the gorgeous architecture of the building.

Nikon D90, ISO 800, f/13, 2.5 sec

Nikon D90, ISO 800, f/13, 2.5 sec

And finally, here is an image of the Menger Hotel in San Antonio, Texas. I had to take a picture for work, to use in advertisements for an event we are having here in February. I got a great shot on a Sunday evening with the hustle and bustle of people going back and forth from the historic hotel. I was also blessed with a deep blue sky, which are normally my favorite natural backgrounds to use.

Of course the challenge was lighting everything evenly, and it still is darker at the top, but I think I got some great light out of the photo as a whole.

Leave a Reply

